celebrate kindness

Baby Bump

Posted on: March 5, 2016

Beautiful quote

This week while in the checkout line of Target, I found myself standing beside a woman who was very pregnant. She was wearing a comfy-cute outfit, leggings and boots, and I couldn’t resist complimenting her in the moment.

“Excuse me, but I just wanted you to know that you look amazing. I know you may not feel like it, but you do. Congratulations!”

Her face lit up with a smile as she acknowledged my compliment. “That was really nice of you to say! Thank you!” She then chuckled as she added, “Two more weeks to go!”

I smiled even more as I nodded with understanding. “Such an exciting time!” I added as I started to walk away, my items paid for and bagged.

Even though I am no longer in the stage of birthing babies, I clearly remember the emotions of having your body completely changed from within (and having absolutely NO control over how that happened!) It really is an amazing process, but one that also makes you feel very self-conscious about your appearance, especially near the end. When you can’t see your feet and you feel yourself waddling like a penguin, it’s near impossible to feel attractive at the same time.

I remember those feelings.

And yet… here I was standing beside a Mommy-To-Be and all I saw was her beauty.

My cousin, who is also counting down the days to parenthood, posted a photo of herself on Instagram. I couldn’t resist complimenting her, too!


Every compliment counts, whether told face-to-face, written in a note, or typed on a mobile device. It’s always lovely to bring a smile to someone else’s face. 🙂

May your day be filled with kindness for others!

Leave a Reply

Follow celebrate kindness on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 39,745 hits
The cards I made as random acts of kindness to bless others through iServe #iservecsbc #rak
