celebrate kindness

Fish Extender – Gifts to Give

Posted on: January 31, 2016

As many of you know, our big vacation last summer was taking an Alaskan Disney Cruise. One of the awesome things about taking a Disney Cruise is this secret RAK experience called “fish extenders”, which I blogged about here. While that blog post gave an overview of the fish extender process and showcased the fish extender I made, I never told you what happened next!

Since I was late in joining the Fish Extender Facebook group, I was put on a list of “Pixie Dusters”, which meant our family would receive random gifts that others had as extras (we were too late for the official gift-swapping exchange.) I, however, had a secret plan of my own. I decided to RAK fish extender gifts to every person/family that “liked” my Pixie Duster post on the page.  We ended up with list of 10 families – 41 people in all.

IMG_4278

Did I mention that we less than 72 hours before our plane would depart?

We. Got. Busy.

My two boys found pictures of Disney characters online and started recreating them out of Perler beads. My daughter grabbed her paint brushes and started decorating picture frames. I headed to the store to see what small gifts and Disney-themed trinkets I could find. We spent the next three days making, organizing, printing, and gluing so we would be ready to give our gifts away.

We prepared memory-making gifts for elderly grandparents and baby-safe gifts for tiny infants. We bought sparkle nail polish for the teenage girls and painted Mickey Mouse ears on the side for fun. We had beads. We had stickers. We had journals, pens, and more.

IMG_1141

Once everything was spread out and sorted, we packaged the gifts in family bags with a personalized note attached.

IMG_1136

We even packed a huge bag of truffles to bless the Disney Cruise workers who would make our vacation so special.

IMG_1133

The next blog post will share all the fun we had blessing others – check back soon and feel free to share!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow celebrate kindness on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 40,600 hits
The cards I made as random acts of kindness to bless others through iServe #iservecsbc #rak
