celebrate kindness

Random Act of Kindness – 41st Birthday at Starbucks

Posted on: October 1, 2013

It’s hard to believe that a full year has passed since I began this journey of blessing others with kindness and publicly documenting my journey through words and pictures.  What a year it has been!  WOW!  I am constantly amazed and humbled by the sheer power of kindness.  It makes people smile.  Laugh.  Blush.  Cry.  Such an endless array of emotion wrapped up with a sparkling bow of joy.  Simply indescribable!

Today was a CRAZY busy day for me.  My family and I had returned from a week long vacation (remind me to post a RAK from that trip tomorrow night when I’m more coherent, lol) then were catapulted into the start of a work week surrounded by mounds of dirty laundry, sour milk, and a basil plant that was parched by a week of sunlight with no water.  My 41st birthday began with the morning hustle of returning to the daily grind of getting dressed for work and kids ready for school.  Of COURSE today would be picture day for my favorite teenager, so an additional 15 minutes was built into my schedule to style her hair in a waterfall braid with wand-shaped spiral curls worthy of any fashion magazine at the checkout stand.

Because that’s what moms do.

I was greeted at work with more than 300 emails demanding attention, a list that would be whittled down little by little like a sculptor carving a masterpiece from a block of ice.  And that was in between teaching the lessons I had scheduled throughout the day.  The evening was just as busy.  Pick kids up from daycare.  Make middle child a sandwich while he worked on homework and got dressed for soccer practice.  Fill his water canteen and send him to soccer practice with dad while concurrently making dinner for the other two children left home with me.  Serve dinner.  Clear the table.  Wash dishes.  Take oldest child to dance class.  Welcome to my Monday night routine.

Oh wait – was today my BIRTHDAY?!?

Yes folks, my life is crazy busy.  Some might even take the leap to say, “Girl, you are insane!”  But you know what?  Even among the nonstop hustle and bustle of my world, I can still find time to bless someone else.  Which is exactly what I did tonight!

Did you know that you can register a Starbucks gift card on their website then they will bless you with a free coffee of your choice on your birthday?  True!  I have a gift card that I registered who knows how many years ago that brings me joy each year as I delight in the warm aroma of a free gourmet coffee.  I could almost taste the Salted Caramel Mocha melting on my tongue as I dropped my daughter off at dance class and headed to my nearest Starbucks for a late night moment of sanity.

I wanted to celebrate my birthday by blessing someone else, and with God’s perfect timing, I had a dear friend send me this article describing Alyssa O’Neill and the RAKs her parents performed in her memory.  Perfect!  I wrote out a note on pretty stationery, added a $5 bill and included both in a sealed envelope to pass along to the Starbucks barista.

bday5dollarRAK

bdayenvelope

As I claimed my free birthday drink and passed along my envelope to the kind barista, I had a surge of joy knowing SOMEONE would be the lucky recipient of my “pay it forward in memory of Alyssa O’Neill” gift.   This was one birthday present I couldn’t wait to give away!

Make sure to read my next post to see what happened next… I ended up getting RAK’d by the barista!  What a fun way to end my crazy birthday!

1 Response to "Random Act of Kindness – 41st Birthday at Starbucks"

[…] a RAK to a stranger, he went and RAK’d me back!  For those who missed the story, click here and […]

Leave a Reply

Follow celebrate kindness on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 40,612 hits
The cards I made as random acts of kindness to bless others through iServe #iservecsbc #rak
