celebrate kindness

Random Act of Kindness #3

Posted on: August 1, 2012

As we were in the midst of school supply shopping, I noticed a young woman digging through the glue stick bin.  Now, as any teacher will confirm, glue sticks are a hot commodity in the classroom.  You NEVER have enough and what seems like a million on the first day of school dwindles to only a handful by mid-year.  As I was observing her (and wondering if she was a teacher… after all she didn’t have any kids with her), I realized she was not getting the best deal on glue sticks.  So I approached the woman and told her that if she bought the value pack she would, in essence, spend the same amount of money, but get two glue sticks for free.  Not a huge bargain, but every glue stick counts!  She thanked me for the advice, then told me she just accepted her very first teaching job, teaching middle school Language Arts.  “I’m thinking that I will need a LOT of glue, right?” she asked.  Immediately I looked to my cart where I had already grabbed the very last two SUPER value packs of glue – 12 glue sticks for $3.  Without any hesitation, I ran to my cart and grabbed them out.  “Here!  Take these!  They are even cheaper!  You will literally pay half off from the single pack glue sticks!!”  Needless to say, she was surprised.  “I don’t want to take your glue sticks!  They’re yours!” she exclaimed.

And that’s when I told her about my 40th Birthday Project.  I told her she could have the glue sticks, completely guilt free, with the only payment to perform a random act of kindness over the next 40 days and respond on this blog what she did.  We chatted a bit more about teaching, then went our separate ways.

Yes.  Two value packs of glue sticks.  That’s all it took for me to show someone else that they were important.  That they deserved kindness.  Can you think of a way to bless a teacher this school year?  You might want to purchase a few extra glue sticks, too.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Follow celebrate kindness on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 39,745 hits
The cards I made as random acts of kindness to bless others through iServe #iservecsbc #rak
